ICT Switzerland Background

Press Release

The University of Bern is conducting the Swiss Software Industry Survey (SSIS) for the third time in a row with support from ICTswitzerland

The SSIS examines the key performance indicators of the Swiss software industry. With this year’s theme of “Digital Transformation”, the study aims to better understand the role of software companies in the digitalisation of the economy and society. The survey of over 5,000 contacts from the Swiss software industry begins today. ICTswitzerland is encouraging software companies to participate in the study as a means of further increasing their significance and relevance within the Swiss economy.

The SSIS long-term survey is being conducted by the University of Bern and is the largest study in Switzerland to examine the industry’s key performance indicators. This is now the third time that the growth, profitability, and internationalisation of Swiss software companies are being analysed. Thanks to the longitudinal nature of this study, prognoses and comparisons can be made over a period of time. Software companies benefit directly from taking part as they receive an individualised benchmark.

The software industry is one of the strongest growing sectors in the Swiss economy and makes a significant contribution to giving the country an international competitive edge. “The study results from 2015 and 2016 confirmed that the Swiss software industry has a high rate of revenue growth and also clearly showed that the software industry will continue to play a key role in the success of the Swiss economy,” commented Andreas Kaelin, Association Manager CEO of ICTswitzerland. “Software companies evaluate the development as very positive, especially in the area of employment growth. But there is a lot of room for improvement with regard to the degree of internationalisation.”

The special focus of this year’s SSIS is on digital transformation. The goal is to better understand the role of Swiss software companies as “movers and shakers” in the digitalisation of industry and society. The main focus is on the areas of the digital transformation where Swiss software companies are especially successful and the related skills they must possess to achieve this.

The results of the SSIS will be presented on 31 October 2017 at the CNO Panel.

The survey is available at: University of Bern, SSIS 2017
The complete results of last year’s SSIS are available here.

Contacts for further information:

Andreas Kaelin, CEO of ICTswitzerland
Tel. +41 31 311 62 45
contact by email

Dr. Thomas Huber, Institute of Information Systems University of Bern
Tel. +41 31 631 33 75
contact by email

Dr. Pascal Sieber, idea and implementation CNO Panel
Tel. + 41 78 777 11 11
contact by email

ICT Switzerland Background

Medienmitteilung

Die Universität Bern führt mit Unterstützung von ICTswitzerland zum dritten Mal in Folge den Schweizer Software Industry Survey (SSIS) durch

Der SSIS untersucht die zentralen Leistungsindikatoren der Schweizer Softwarebranche. Unter dem diesjährigen Motto «Digitale Transformation» zielt die Studie darauf ab, die Rolle der Softwareunternehmen bei der Digitalisierung der Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft besser zu verstehen. Die Befragung von über 5‘000 Kontakten aus der Schweizer Softwarebranche beginnt heute. ICTswitzerland ruft Softwareunternehmen dazu auf, an der Studie teilzunehmen und so deren Aussagekraft und Relevanz für die Schweizer Wirtschaft weiter zu steigern.

Die Langzeitstudie SSIS wird von der Universität Bern durchgeführt und ist schweizweit die grösste Studie zu den zentralen Leistungsindikatoren der Branche. Bereits zum dritten Mal werden Wachstum, Profitabilität und Internationalisierung von Schweizer Softwareunternehmen untersucht. Dank des Längsschnittcharakters ermöglicht die Studie Prognosen und Vergleiche über die Zeit. Softwareunternehmen ziehen einen direkten Nutzen aus ihrer Teilnahme: Sie erhalten ein individuelles Benchmarking.

Die Softwarebranche ist eine der wachstumsstärksten Branchen der Schweizer Volkswirtschaft und trägt massgeblich zum internationalen Wettbewerbsvorteil bei. «Die Studienresultate von 2015 und 2016 attestierten der Schweizer Softwarebranche ein hohes Umsatzwachstum und haben klar gezeigt, dass die Softwarebranche auch in Zukunft eine Schlüsselrolle für die Prosperität der Schweizer Wirtschaft spielen wird», sagt Andreas Kaelin, der Geschäftsführer von ICTswitzerland. «Besonders in Bezug auf das Beschäftigungswachstum beurteilen Softwareunternehmen die Entwicklung sehr positiv. Hinsichtlich dem Internationalisierungsgrad ist aber noch viel Verbesserungspotential vorhanden».

Der spezielle Themenschwerpunkt des SSIS liegt in diesem Jahr auf der digitalen Transformation. Ziel ist es, die Rolle der Schweizer Softwareunternehmen als «Macher» der Digitalisierung von Industrie und Gesellschaft besser zu verstehen. Im Fokus steht dabei, in welchen Bereichen der digitalen Transformation Schweizer Softwareunternehmen besonders erfolgreich sind und welche Fähigkeiten sie hierfür besitzen müssen.

Die Ergebnisse des SSIS werden am 31. Oktober 2017 im Rahmen des CNO Panel präsentiert.

Die Befragung finden Sie unter: Universität Bern, SISS 2017
Die vollständigen Ergebnisse des letztjährigen SSIS finden Sie hier.

Kontakt für weitere Informationen:

Andreas Kaelin, Geschäftsführer ICTswitzerland
T +41 31 311 62 45
per E-Mail kontaktieren

Dr. Thomas Huber, Institut für Wirtschaftsinformatik Universität Bern
Tel. +41 31 631 33 75
per E-Mail kontaktieren

Dr. Pascal Sieber, Idee und Realisierung CNO Panel
Tel. + 41 78 777 11 11
per E-Mail kontaktieren