ICT Switzerland Background

Politics

The ePower initiative

"ePower for Switzerland" is a joint initiative of the Swiss parliament and the private sector, which was founded in the autumn of 2005 by senior industrial and political representatives. The objective of the ePower initiative is to ensure that the potential of information and communication technology in Switzerland is better exploited. For this reason, it lobbies politicians to improve Switzerland's standing within the ICT industry.

ePower acts as the middleman between business, politicians, the authorities, and the scientific community. Its activities focus on the following three key areas:

Stakeholder management: Sessions on topical ICT issues are held four times a year. For these round-table talks, ePower gathers representatives from the worlds of politics, business, the relevant authorities and the scientific community.

Lobbying projects: Current political ICT issues and the concerns of the ICT industry are discussed on a regular basis by what is known as the "core team"; ePower's operational managers. These issues and concerns are addressed and, where necessary, taken to the national or cantonal parliaments in the form of motions or appeals.

Issue monitoring: The ePower registered office keeps a close eye on political events relating to ICT (Politoscope.ch) and regularly informs all its members about relevant deals (via the session report and Sessionsradar). In addition, it closely monitors selected top issues and develops topics for the core team as well as the ICTswitzerland management board to discuss.

​Who's behind ePower?

ePower is an initiative of the Swiss parliament and the private sector, which is therefore made up of a political and an economic committee. These two independent committees communicate on a regular basis and, where appropriate, work together to strengthen Switzerland's position in the ICT industry.

The ePower for Switzerland parliamentary group
The core team heads ePower from the operational perspective. This team comprises four members of the Swiss National Council, and stands out with its cross-party representation in politics and its deep subject knowledge.
Members of the core team

A further 35 parliamentarians with an interest in ICT form the wider political circle that is the parliamentary group.
Members of the ePower parlamentary  group

ePower member companies
On the economic side, ePower is supported by ICT companies that are members of ICTswitzerland and/or ePower.
Member companies

Cooperation
ePower collaborates with the Swiss Federal IT Steering Unit (FITSU) and is assisted in its activities by economiesuisse and the Swiss Academy of Engineering Science (SATW).

Topics

ePower addresses current political ICT topics and seeks to ensure that the goals of the Digital Agenda 2.0 are met in the long-term, namely:

Energy

Future energy policies must make better use of the potential of ICT. ICT is a central catalyst for the development of new business models in the electricity supply. ICT applications and smart grids also make a major contribution to increasing energy efficiency and sustainability.

Health

ICT can also increase efficiency and quality in healthcare. However, this must be promoted in a targeted way through financial incentives, for example by lowering the basic insurance premiums of patients who use an electronic patient record.

Education

ICT is increasingly becoming a determining factor in quality of life, economic prosperity and professional advancement. For this reason, the importance of IT must be taken into account when drawing up the curricula for primary and secondary state education in Switzerland. IT should also be added as a core subject in high schools.

Basic infrastructure

Switzerland has an excellent basic ICT infrastructure and is internationally competitive. However there is an urgent need to simplify the authorisation procedures for antennas, in view of the dramatic increase in the importance of mobile data transmission.

Mobility

Thanks to ICT, the planned expansion of electronic ticketing for public transport – the "ÖV-Karte"– has the potential to enable mobility pricing across all forms of public transport. This would enable transportation vehicles to be used more efficiently and in a more networked way, and lessen the need for expansion through the targeted use of modern technologies.

Research and innovation

Cooperation between industry and universities must be strengthened, so that research and innovation can quickly be transformed into entrepreneurial added value. The provision of funding and know-how through "smart capital" is an important catalyst for speeding this process up.

Regulation and data protection

Data security is key for the success of electronic business models. Often enough, users themselves are the weakest link in the digital security chain. The careful use of digital data (media skills) should therefore be taught at school.

Public services

The digital exchange of information between companies, citizens and the state still functions poorly. To meet the demand better, companies must be involved much more closely in the implementation of the Swiss national e-government strategy. The federal government and the cantons must also finally develop a clear procurement strategy for ICT projects (make or buy).

Digital identity

However, more important still than all these other demands is the core demand for a government-issued state identity for all citizens as the foundation and driver of progress in e-government, e-health and e-commerce.

Registered office

«ePower für die Schweiz»

c/o furrerhugi. ag
Schauplatzgasse 39
3011 Berne

Phone: +41 31 313 18 48
Fax: +41 31 313 18 49
Email: Contact us

Managing Director: Andreas Hugi
Assistant: Alessandra Köchli

ICT Switzerland Background

Politik

Die ePower Initiative

Die parlamentarisch-wirtschaftliche Initiative «ePower für die Schweiz» wurde im Herbst 2005 von Spitzenvertretern aus Industrie und Politik gegründet. Die ePower Initiative will erreichen, dass das Potenzial der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien in der Schweiz besser genutzt wird. Sie setzt sich auf dem politischen Parkett für einen starken ICT-Standort Schweiz ein.

ePower vermittelt zwischen Wirtschaft, Politik, Verwaltung und Wissenschaft. Die Aktivitäten basieren dabei auf den drei Schwerpunkten:

Stakeholder Management: Viermal pro Jahr findet ein Sessionsanlass zu einem aktuellen ICT-Thema statt. ePower bringt Vertreter aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Verwaltung und Wissenschaft an einen Tisch.

Projektarbeit: Aktuelle politische ICT-Issues und die Anliegen der ICT-Wirtschaft werden regelmässig vom sogenannten Kernteam, der operativen Leitung von ePower, diskutiert. Die Issues und Anliegen werden aufgearbeitet und gegebenenfalls in Form von Vorstössen oder Anträgen in das nationale oder in die kantonalen Parlamente getragen.

Issue Monitoring: Die ePower Geschäftsstelle führt ein breites Monitoring der politischen Ereignisse im ICT-Bereich (Politoscope.ch) und informiert alle Mitglieder regelmässig über relevante Geschäfte (Sessionsbericht und Sessionsradar). Darüber hinaus begleitet sie ausgewählte Top-Issues eng und erarbeitet Diskussionsgrundlagen zuhanden des Kernteams sowie des Vorstands von ICTswitzerland.

​Wer steht hinter ePower?

Die parlamentarisch-wirtschaftliche Initiative ePower wird durch ein politisches und ein wirtschaftliches Gremium gebildet. Die beiden unabhängigen Gremien stehen im regelässigen Austausch und setzen sich – wo sinnvoll – gemeinsam für einen starken ICT-Standort Schweiz ein.

Die Parlamentarische Gruppe ePower für die Schweiz
Die operative Leitung von ePower hat das sogenannte Kernteam inne. Dieses wird durch vier Nationalrätinnen und Nationalräte gebildet und zeichnet sich durch eine breite parteipolitische Vertretung und sein fundiertes fachliches Know-How aus.
Mitglieder des Kernteams

Den erweiterten politischen Kreis bilden die 35 ICT-affinen Parlamentarierinnen und Parlamentarier der Parlamentarischen Gruppe.
Mitglieder der Parlamentarischen Gruppe

Die ePower Mitgliederunternehmen
Von wirtschaftlicher Seite wird ePower durch ICT-Unternehmen getragen, die bei ICTswitzerland und/oder ePower Mitglied sind.
Liste der Mitglieder

Kooperationen
ePower pflegt die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Informatikstrategieorgan des Bundes (ISB) und wird von economiesuisse und der Schweizerischen Akademie der Technischen Wissenschaften (SATW) in ihren Tätigkeiten unterstützt.

​Themen

ePower setzt sich mit aktuellen politischen ICT-Themen auseinander und strebt auf lange Sicht die Umsetzung der Ziele der «Digitalen Agenda 2.0» an.

Energie

Die Potenziale der ICT müssen in der künftigen Energiepolitik besser ausgeschöpft werden. ICT ist ein zentraler Katalysator für die Entwicklung neuer Geschäftsmodelle in der Stromversorgung. Zudem leisten ICT-Anwendungen und Smart Grids einen wichtigen Beitrag an Energieeffizienz und Nachhaltigkeit.

Gesundheit

Auch im Gesundheitswesen kann ICT zu Effizienz- und Qualitätssteigerungen beitragen. Dies muss jedoch durch finanzielle Anreize gezielt gefördert werden, zum Beispiel mittels einer Prämienreduktion auf die Grundversicherung der Patienten, die ein elektronisches Patientendossier einsetzen.

Bildung

ICT ist in zunehmendem Masse eine Grundlage für Lebensqualität, wirtschaftliche Prosperität und berufliches Fortkommen. Deshalb muss bei der Erarbeitung der Lehrpläne der Volksschule die Wichtigkeit der Informatik berücksichtigt werden. Im Gymnasium sollte Informatik als Grundlagenfach aufgenommen werden.

Basisinfrastrukturen

Die Schweiz hat eine sehr gute ICT-Basisinfrastruktur und ist international konkurrenzfähig. Handlungsbedarf besteht jedoch bei den Antennen bewilligungsverfahren, die angesichts der stark zunehmenden Bedeutung des mobilen Datenverkehrs zwingend vereinfacht werden müssen.

Mobilität

Der sich in Planung befindliche Ausbau des elektronischen Ticketings im öffentlichen Verkehr – Stichwort ÖV-Karte – hat das Potenzial, dank ICT zu einem verkehrsübergreifenden Mobility Pricing ausgebaut zu werden. So können alle Verkehrsträger effizienter und vernetzter eingesetzt werden und durch den gezielten Einsatz moderner Technologien sinkt der Ausbaubedarf.

Forschung und Innovation

Die Zusammenarbeit von Industrie und Hochschulen muss gestärkt werden, damit Forschung und Innovation rasch in unternehmerische Wertschöpfung umgewandelt werden können. Die Vermittlung von Kapital und Know-how durch «Smart Capital» ist ein wichtiger Katalysator zur Beschleunigung dieses Prozesses.

Regulierung und Datenschutz

Datensicherheit ist eine wesentliche Voraussetzung für den Erfolg von elektronischen Geschäftsmodellen. Das schwächste Glied in der digitalen Sicherheitskette ist oftmals der Benutzer selbst. Der sorgfältige Umgang mit digitalen Daten (Medienkompetenz) soll bereits in der Schule gelernt werden.

Public Services

Der digitale Austausch zwischen Firmen, Bürger und dem Staatfunktioniert weiterhin schlecht. Zur besseren Bedürfnisorientierung muss die Wirtschaft deutlich stärker in der Umsetzung der nationalen eGovernment-Strategie einbezogen werden. Zudem müssen Bund und Kantone endlich eine klare Beschaffungsstrategie bei ICT-Projekten entwickeln (make or buy).

Digitale Identität

Über allen diesen Forderungen steht die Kernforderung nach einer hoheitlich vergebenen staatlichen Identität für alle Bürgerinnen und Bürger als Grundlage und Treiber für Fortschritte in den Bereichen eGovernment, eHealth und eCommerce.

​Geschäftsstelle

«ePower für die Schweiz»
c/o furrerhugi. ag
Schauplatzgasse 39
3011 Bern

Telefon: +41 31 313 18 48
Fax: +41 31 313 18 49
E-Mail: Kontakt herstellen

Geschäftsführer: Andreas Hugi
Geschäftstelle: Alessandra Köchli